Red Bull’s Joyride Is Coming To Whistler

The premiere slopstyle event, this one is sure to be a banger. With Nicolai Rogatkin vying for the elusive triple crown, there is plenty of intrique in a stacked field of competitors— this is sure to be a good one. Check below for last year’s highlights and a full press release from Red Bull –ML

From Red Bull:

WHISTLER, B.C. August 12, 2018 – It’s been building all season. The excitement, pressure and anticipation of the Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship on the Crankworx World Tour began in March in Rotorua, New Zealand, where the season’s first victory was won. It then carried on to Europe, with stops in Innsbruck, Austria and Les Gets, France. Now, it’s coming home to where it all began, Whistler, B.C., reaching its apex.

article continues below

Saturday, August 18, the biggest event of the season, Red Bull Joyride, will go live from the Whistler Mountain Bike Park, bringing 14 of the world’s best slopestyle mountain bikers to compete on the sport’s biggest stage in front of tens of thousands of fans in Whistler, and hundreds of thousands who will tune in live around the world on Red Bull TV and

And while the energy is reaching a fever pitch, it’s been building in Whistler for months.

Here’s a look at what’s gone in to bringing the world’s biggest slopestyle course to life:

3: months of dirt shaping and feature building at the base of the Whistler Mountain bike Park
16: crew members
5: countries represented on crew (Canada, USA, Scotland, New Zealand, Australia)
7: features, including two on/off features making for:
9: judgeable features

All building toward one ultimate prize, one overall championship title and one never-before-won honour.

In addition to the Red Bull Joyride win up for grabs, as the season-ending Crankworx slopestyle competition the event will also crown the Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Champion. One additional accolade is on the line. Each year Crankworx offers up the Triple Crown of Slopestyle prize to an athlete who can accomplish a nearly unimaginable feat: winning three out of four slopestyle contests in one season. With back-to-back wins at Crankworx Innsbruck and Crankworx Les Gets, one rider, Nicholi Rogatkin (USA) is on deck to fight for the Triple Crown.

The course from which athletes will launch has been carefully designed, sculpted and buffed by the Joyride Bike Parks crew, led by Paddy Kaye. Kaye has been responsible for designing and building the course for this event every year since 2011.

Each year he and his team take feedback from athletes in order to make courses that are constantly improving and progressing with the sport. This year he says his focus was on creating a course that’ll challenge riders but give them a good chance of putting down a clean run and getting to the bottom.

For 2018, the length of the course will stay the same as 2017, while two hips have been replaced with berms, allowing for more flow and giving riders some time to regroup in two spots (before the four-pack and before the cabin).

The seven features on which riders will be judged include:

Start Drop with two options (flat drop and step down)

  • Cannon Log, into a berm
  • Four-Pack (two wooden ramps/jumps), into a berm
  • Red Bull Cabin Whale Tail (step up/step down where riders will trick on and off, allowing them to do combos), into a berm
  • Large Step Up Jump (allowing for bigger tricks), into a berm
  • Step Up to Flat Drop

In his push for the Triple Crown, Rogatkin will be fighting to win the only Crankworx event he’s never won. Meanwhile Brett Rheeder (CAN), currently the discipline’s most successful rider on the circuit, will undoubtedly be fired up to challenge. Rheeder won the season’s opening contest in Rotorua, and has finished second behind Rogatkin at the past two. He’s also currently in the lead for the overall, gunning to lock down the Slopestyle World Championship title at the last stop.

But with the eyes of the world set on Whistler, and the pressure cooker environment that creates, it’s anyone’s game. Rogatkin and Rheeder both had strong seasons in 2017, trading wins across the tour, but their success didn’t translate in Whistler. Rogatkin finished 14th at Red Bull Joyride 2017, while Rheeder finished 15th.

The complete list of 14 riders set to take on the invitational contest are:

Diego Caverzasi (ITA)

Erik Fedko (GER)

Max Fredriksson (SWE)

Thomas Genon (BEL)

Szymon Godziek (POL)

Emil Johansson (SWE)

Matt Jones (GBR)

Tomas Lemoine (FRA)

Anthony Messere (CAN)

Ryan Nyquist (USA)

Brett Rheeder (CAN)

Nicholi Rogatkin (USA)

Torquato Testa (ITA)

Bernd Winkler (AUT)

The course is primed, the athletes are ready and the world is waiting.

Watch Red Bull Joyride LIVE on Red Bull TV and

Saturday August 18th 4:30 pm PDT
Sunday August 19th 11:30 am NZST
Sunday August 19th 1:30 am CEST